T20 Asia Cup History and Tradition

The 2022 T20 Asia Cup is scheduled to begin on August 27 with Sri Lanka and Afghanistan set to take on one another in the principal match of the tournament. A sum of six groups including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, and another group from UAE, Kuwait, Hong Kong, and Singapore will partake in the tournament with the qualifiers set to start on August 20. The six groups have been isolated into gatherings of two each and the Asia Cup focuses table will figure out which four groups will progress to the Super Four phase and in this way the finals.

Discussing Asia Cup’s set of experiences, the absolute first release of the tournament was played in 1984 in UAE with India and Sri Lanka confronting each other in the last match. The Men dressed in Blue were delegated as the principal Asia Cup champs. The second release of the Asia Cup was played in 1986 with the sprinters up from the main version, Sri Lanka lifting the cup this time in the wake of beating Pakistan.

  • The twelfth release of the Asia Cup

In which T20 World Cup victors Sri Lanka were delegated as champions was one of the most engaging versions with a few close challenges being played in the tournament, however, Sri Lanka dominated the last game effectively against Pakistan by five wickets.

In the meantime, Team India is the best group in the Asia Cup, having lifted the cup multiple times. Sri Lanka comes in runner-up in the wake of winning the valued prize multiple times, while Pakistan has likewise won Asia Cup two times. Bangladesh can term themselves unfortunate as they have arrived at the finals of the Asia Cup threefold yet never figured out how to lift the cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.